Cedar Point 2013

Once the footers are poured for the day, the ride re-opens.

Promoter of fog.

It doesn't seem like the park would have an advantage by building some footers inside at this point. I'm not doubting Adam because he isn't one to throw out wild claims, it just seems like an odd way to begin construction of a coaster. I'm not an engineer by any means but it would be a strange approach to building a new coaster.

SSL488 said:
so have we given up hope for a coaster going to the turnpike car area for 2013?

That rumor has been around for a long time, I don't think anything other than peoples hopes pointed at that area for use.

SSL488 said:
My friend went to the park yesterday and said that DT was closed. Does anyone know if it was closed all day?

It was closed all day Thursday and Friday of this past week too, so I imagine it was the same case then.

SSL488 said:
If Matt did in fact say that he wants to keep DT but open up the beach, where else would there be a place to open up the beach?

When I attended the breakfast where Matt spoke, on more than one occasion, he spoke of "tearing down" things and then jokingly coughed "Disaster Transport". At no time did he say he wouldn't remove DT, so I would suspect that he would not hesitate in removing it.

I think removing DT and redeveloping that area (coaster or other things) could make it one of the most beautiful areas of the park. It would have a gorgeous view of the beach and the lake, and if done right, it could be one of the nicest areas just to relax and hang out for awhile.

I would actually hate to see a coaster go in where the Turnpike Cars are. Between a new coaster and Raptor, that area would have too much track crammed into a fairly small space. That part of the park needs the family rides like Calypso, Turnpike Cars, Cadillac Cars and Cedar Downs to balance out Raptor and Blue Streak. Adding a coaster in that area would be a mistake in my opinion.