Cedar Point Dethroned: Golden Ticket Awards 2014!

Mystical Matthew said:

MDOmnis said:
Too bad. I bet Europa decided to up their Advertising budget with Amusement Today to the point where it was more than CP's spend.

You know what? I'll buy that idea. You're absolutely right. As a small business owner I know firsthand how that game works.

My previous post wasn't entirely fair to the current CEO. He's only been in charge for a few years and has made some very positive changes. The shows are dramatically better. As someone who loves performance art I appreciate that.

Kinzel did give us Mean Streak, Mantis, and Disaster Transport. Gatekeeper is far superior to all of those.

I hope that something big is coming. I really do. But I do see the "someone else is buying more advertising" possibility as very, very real... That whole game is massively dirty.

I'm obviously not in the amusement industry, but I imagine it's similar to what I've encoutnered

Also, they had to take some years to fix other things before they can go back to 'tallest, fastest, etc'. To keep building more tall and fast rides without fixing the overall experience would have hurt them more in the long run, and long term success is crucial. More important than 1 year of an award. I think they are on the right path. The right path isnt always a straight shot, and sometimes there are bumps in the road.

DA20Pilot said:
1) Rides/amenities becoming more disposable like at Disney. CP used to keep rides essentially forever in most cases.

This is pretty simple: Stuff gets old and expensive to maintain, and you can't keep the same maintenance budget by adding rides without taking some out. Do you want to pay more for a bunch of stuff to satisfy your nostalgia? No thanks.

2) Less pushing of the envelope/Less of being known for the biggest/best of everything.