Top Thrill Dragster 2022 Status

I have wondered the same thing. It would be like Wicked Twister was.

From the image Brandon posted, it does look like the area directly above the excavator is scored and ready to be torn up.

Possibly, but would that indicate they're widening the turn? Consider the implication - the launch toward the tower has to be linear, and they stopped removing track far short of vertical track. Absent a "finish coaster" button, how do you reconcile a wider turn with a linear approach to the tower?

Brandon

IMO, the area above the excavator looks like a good place for the exit ramp. I have no claim to any real knowledge, but if they are keeping the station there and not having an unload, that’s where I’d be having riders exit back to the midway.

As for the area previously containing landscaping? I’d say work on footings for an elevated bridge up and over the end of the brake run and down into the station, assuming the queue will be entering from over there, now, and not the middle of the ride. Kind of similar to how they re-routed Kingda Ka’s queue after they closed the queue in the center.

No ideas that wouldn't be shot down with arguments from all over this thread. I'm even less sure myself now, the grid pattern I thought was scoring, looks similar to the concrete pattern in the old queue and the winners circle areas. Can kinda make out the grid in the circle in google maps, so maybe these were always there.

Good point Brandon. I forgot about the unload winding ramp, and you're on the same wavelength as me. If they widened the turn, I'm not sure how you keep the station where it is and maintain the linear path to the tower.

380 MF laps
Smoking Area Drone Pilot

Unless they install a switch track from a newly constructed station to the old station, I agree, it wouldn’t make sense to widen the turn.

Obviously going to Launch forward over the top hat, come to a stop, then launch backward over the top hat.

First ride; Magnum 1994