Always Cedar Point: A Memoir of the Midway

^ Excellent, Smithers... That’s what I was waiting for. Gonna pick up this and Kinzel’s book this weekend. Should I pre-order? I’d hate to miss out on the Kindle edition because they didn’t print enough...
😜

Last edited by Shane Denmark,

ROUNDABOUND.

Read a little bit every night and love hearing all of the stories:

- Corkscrew was going to be called "The Great Lake Erie Roller"

- The Gemini opening didn't go as planned (loved the story about the Governor and George Roose heading to open the ride more than an hour early, and the tongue lashing that John received from Munger when he essentially told his intern to tell the media the ride wouldn't open on time)

- Essentially the Marriott parks that opened in the 1970's took a bulk of the high brass of Cedar Point, making way for the middle level management to take over. It obviously worked out for those that stayed at Cedar Point, especially Dick Kinzel.

As a young professional I am enjoying the book by hearing first hand how John rose to the top. We all daydream about what it would be like to run Cedar Point, but there's no doubt it took many years of sacrifice and dedication to get where he got. He mentions how little he got to be with his family, and the sacrifice of essentially living at the park. It's also a reminder of how different corporate America is today. John got to where he did by starting at the bottom and working his way up. That's not the same story for Jason, who was hired by Carowinds to be a senior financial analyst before moving on as GM of Dorney and now CP. Doesn't mean Jason isn't capable of the job, just a whole different approach in today's world about how people "climb the ladder".

Its also interesting to hear how Dick Kinzel got to where he got through John's perspective. I have Dick's book, and its okay, but this one is the real winner of the two.