Opening Day 2013

Okay so I am new to PointBuzz and I am sorry if this has already been posted and addressed but I couldn't seem to find anything that quite answered what I needed.

I have been to Cedar Point many times in the past but I have never been to opening day. My friends and I have Platinum Season passes and I know that the hour early is available on opening day. However, I was wondering what time would be a good time to arrive at the park? We all have renewed our passes online so we don't have to worry about stopping at the season pass center. And there is also the opening of Gatekeeper to keep in mind I know as well. Any suggestions as to what time we should plan to arrive at the park on opening day??

Any help or input is greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,
Ashley

Expect huge crowds on opening day due to Gatekeeper. That being said, it all depends on what you plan on doing. For instance, if you wanted to be on the first train of ________, you might want to get to the gate closest to that ride as early as possible. Some of the die hards start showing up before 7 and that could be earlier with Gatekeeper opening.

However, getting there early doesn't guarantee anything. You will also have to deal with the ever dangerous running of the bulls and the ever annoying single riders. :P

I would say a healthy time to get there would be 7:30. Expect a few people ahead of you though. Good luck! :)

-Adam G- The OG Dragster nut

How long do you guys expect the line for Gatekeeper to be during early entry?

I don't expect it to be open at all for early entry on Opening Day.

Goodbye MrScott

John

Especially with opening ceremonies and the red cross riders (or whatever they choose to do for first riders).

It's been a while since a new coaster opened on opening day, but I recall with Dragster I was right behind the last of the Red Cross auction riders. I just don't remember if early entry was a thing back then, or if I was going in at normal park opening time.